Advanced Search

Advanced Search

James I: The Key Will Keep the Lock ()

Produced by

Edinburgh International Festival and The National Theatre of Great Britain and The National Theatre of Scotland

Presented by

The Luminato Festival

Playwright: Rona Munro
Director: Laurie Sansom


The Hearn Theatre


June 16th, 2016 – June 26th, 2016


A modern cycle of history plays by award-winning playwright Rona Munro, this vividly-imagined trilogy presents a compelling narrative on Scottish culture and nationhood – a country tussling with its past and future – by connecting the men who ruled from 1406 to 1488 to the political climate of today. Hailed as “a towering achievement” that’s “better than Shakespeare,” each play, featuring an ensemble of Great Britain’s finest performers, is presented as a standalone piece: James I: The Key Will Keep the Lock, James II: Day of the Innocents and James III: The True Mirror. (


Rosemary Boyle Joan, an English Noblewoman, later wife to James I
Daniel Cahill Alasdair Stewart
Ali Craig Big James Stewart
Blythe Duff Isabella Stewart, Regent Consort
Nicholas Elliott Ensemble
Andrew Fraser Ensemble
Peter Forbes Balvenie, of the Douglas family
Dani Heron Ensemble
Brian James O’Sullivan Ensemble
Sian Mannifield Ensemble
David Mara Ensemble
Steven Miller James I
Calum Morrison Ensemble
Matthew Pidgeon Henry V, King of England
Sally Reid Meg, a Lady of the Scottish Court
Andrew Rothney Walter Stewart
John Stahl Murdac Stewart, Regent of Scotland
Andrew Still Ensemble
Fiona Wood Ensemble
Ros Steen Additional Voice Work

Creative Team

Rona Munro Playwright
Laurie Sansom Director
Jon Bausor Set Designer
Jon Bausor Costume Designer
Philip Gladwell Lighting Designer
Neil Bettles Movement Director
Christopher Shutt Original Sound Designer
Paul Leonard-Morgan Composer
Rachel Bown-Williams Fight Director
Ruth Cooper-Brown Fight Director
Luke Kernaghan Associate Director
Jean Chan Associate Set Designer
Jean Chan Associate Costume Designer
Rob Casey Associate Lighting Designer
Nick Sagar Sound Associate
Kevin Murray Sound Associate
Alasdair Macrae Musical Director
Caitlin Skinner Assistant Director
Laura Donnelly Casting Director
Will Gregory "Robin" Composition
Alasdair Macrae "Robin" Composition
Alasdair Macrae Pre-Show Arrangements, Additional Arranging, and Hammered Dulcimer
Cameron Barnes Additional Piping Arrangements


Calum Morrison Musician


Cynthia DuBerry Stage Manager
Emma Skaer Deputy Stage Manager
Jo Phipps Assistant Stage Manager
Ali Biggs Assistant Stage Manager
Chris Hay Production Manager
Neil Murray Executive Producer
Margaret-Anne O’Donnell Producer
Mandy Whittaker Company Manager
Paul Claydon Production Electrician
Liam Jones Lighting Programmer
Marec Jones Lighting Supervisor and Re-Lights
Jon Meggat Lighting Technician
Abbi Fearnley Lighting Technician
Andrew Kirkby Production Sound Engineer
Fergus Lockie Production Sound Technician
Daniel Evans Sound No 1
Amy Spencer Sound No 2
Louise Robertson Costume Supervisor
Louise Robertson Wardrobe Supervisor
Nicky McKean Wardrobe Technician
Michelle Lyons Wig Technician
Michelle Lyons Makeup Technician
Kristin McCubbin Wig Technician
Jes Baines Production Carpenter
Mike Hall Production Carpenter
David Mason-Hill Stage Supervisor
Iain Ramponi Stage Technician
Sarah Wilson Touring Communications Manager
Tim Manning Hammered Dulcimer Maker and Supplier
Hamish Moore Border Pipes Maker and Supplier