Advanced Search

Advanced Search

James III: The True Mirror ()

Produced by

Edinburgh International Festival and The National Theatre of Great Britain and The National Theatre of Scotland

Presented by

The Luminato Festival

Playwright: Rona Munro
Director: Laurie Sansom


The Hearn Theatre


June 18th, 2016 – June 26th, 2016


A modern cycle of history plays by award-winning playwright Rona Munro, this vividly-imagined trilogy presents a compelling narrative on Scottish culture and nationhood – a country tussling with its past and future – by connecting the men who ruled from 1406 to 1488 to the political climate of today. Hailed as “a towering achievement” that’s “better than Shakespeare,” each play, featuring an ensemble of Great Britain’s finest performers, is presented as a standalone piece: James I: The Key Will Keep the Lock, James II: Day of the Innocents and James III: The True Mirror. (


Rosemary Boyle Ensemble
Daniel Cahill Jamie, Eldest Son of James and Margaret
Ali Craig John, Head of the Privy Council
Malin Crépin Margaret, Queen of Scots
Blythe Duff Annabella, the King's Aunt
Nicholas Elliott Ensemble
Andrew Fraser Ramsay, the King's Personal Servant
Dani Heron Phemy, a Lady of the Court
Brian James O’Sullivan Tam, a Member of the Household
Sian Mannifield Ensemble
David Mara Ensemble
Steven Miller Sandy, the King's Younger Brother
Calum Morrison Ensemble
Matthew Pidgeon James III
Sally Reid Ensemble
Andrew Rothney Cochrane, a Lord of the Court
Andrew Still Ross, Middle Son of James III and Margaret
Fiona Wood Daisy, a Laundress
Ros Steen Additional Voice Work

Creative Team

Rona Munro Playwright
Laurie Sansom Director
Jon Bausor Set Designer
Jon Bausor Costume Designer
Philip Gladwell Lighting Designer
Neil Bettles Movement Director
Nick Sagar Sound Designer
Will Gregory Composer
Rachel Bown-Williams Fight Director
Ruth Cooper-Brown Fight Director
Luke Kernaghan Associate Director
Jean Chan Associate Set Designer
Jean Chan Associate Costume Designer
Rob Casey Associate Lighting Designer
Kevin Murray Sound Associate
Alasdair Macrae Musical Director
Caitlin Skinner Assistant Director
Laura Donnelly Casting Director
Will Gregory "Robin" Composer
Alasdair Macrae "Robin" Composer
Alasdair Macrae Pre-Show Arrangements, Additional Arranging, and Hammered Dulcimer
Cameron Barnes Additional Piping Arrangements


Brian James O’Sullivan Musician
David Mara Musician
Calum Morrison Musician


Cynthia DuBerry Stage Manager
Emma Skaer Deputy Stage Manager
Jo Phipps Assistant Stage Manager
Ali Biggs Assistant Stage Manager
Paul Claydon Production Electrician
Liam Jones Lighting Programmer
Marec Jones Lighting Supervisor and Re-Lights
Jon Meggat Lighting Technician
Abbi Fearnley Lighting Technician
Andrew Kirkby Production Sound Engineer
Fergus Lockie Production Sound Technician
Daniel Evans Sound No 1
Amy Spencer Sound No 2
Louise Robertson Costume Supervisor
Louise Robertson Wardrobe Supervisor
Nicky McKean Wardrobe Technician
Michelle Lyons Wig Technician
Michelle Lyons Makeup Technican
Kristin McCubbin Wig Technician
Jes Baines Production Carpenter
Mike Hall Production Carpenter
David Mason-Hill Stage Supervisor
Iain Ramponi Stage Technician
Sarah Wilson Touring Communications Manager
Tim Manning Hammered Dulcimer Builder and Supplier
Hamish Moore Border Pipes Builder and Supplier