Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Once on this Island ()

Produced by

Obsidian Theatre Company and The Musical Stage Company

Book: Lynn Ahrens
Lyrics: Lynn Ahrens
Music: Stephen Flaherty
Director: Nigel Shawn Williams

Based on the novelĀ My Love, My Love by Rosa Guy


Daniels Spectrum – Ada Slaight Hall


January 21st, 2014 – February 9th, 2014


Set deep in the heart of the French Antilles, Once On This Island is a love story for all ages. When the dark skinned Ti Moune falls in love with Daniel, a lighter-skinned upper-class man, the gods send her on a journey which tests the power of love against the fear of death. With a joyful Caribbean infused score, dazzling choreography, and stunning theatrical staging, this Olivier award-winning musical will whisk you away on a journey you will not soon forget. (


Charles Azulay Armand
Nichola Lawrence Asaka
Jewelle Blackman Ti Moune
Tom Pickett Tonton
Arlene Duncan Mama Euralie
Sabryn Rock Andrea
Daren A. Herbert Papa Ge
Chris Sams Daniel
Alana Hibbert Erzulie
Jivaro Smith Agwe
Kaya Joubert Johnson Young Girl

Creative Team

Lynn Ahrens Book
Lynn Ahrens Lyrics
Stephen Flaherty Music
Nigel Shawn Williams Director
Rosa Guy Author
Lily Ling Music Director
Marc Kimelman Choreographer
Michael Gianfrancesco Set Designer
Bonnie Beecher Lighting Designer
Alex Amini Costume Designer
Michael Laird Sound Designer
Brandon Kleiman Associate Set Designer
Stephan Dickson Assistant Choreographer
Rachel Forbes Apprentice Set Designer


Lily Ling Conductor
Lily Ling Keyboard
Colleen Allen Reeds
Justin Gray Bass
Kristofer Maddigan Mallet Percussion
Ed Squires Hand Percussion


Robert Harding Stage Manager
Alice Barnett Apprentice Stage Manager
Adrien Whan Production Manager
Alex Vass Head of Properties
William Fallon Production Sound Engineer
Allison Edwards-Crewe Child Chaperone
Esther Brown Running Crew
Tye Hunt Fitzgerald Running Crew
Erika Morey Running Crew
Davida Tkach Running Crew
Stephen Davis Box Office Representative
Lucie Ryan Donnelly Box Office Representative
Jenny Weisz Box Office Representative
Mark Crawford Front of House Manager