Advanced Search

Advanced Search

The Hollow Square ()

Produced by


Presented by

The Toronto Fringe Festival

Playwright: Kathleen McDonnell
Director: Bryn McLeod


St. George the Martyr Anglican Church


July 2nd, 2015 – July 11th, 2015


The audience steps back in time to meet characters from 1847 Toronto, including a Singing Master who leads them in a “choral tsunami” of old-time shape-note hymns. (


Griffin McInnes Edward Medcalf
Marina Maye Gwynne Mary Sweeney
Maureen Murray Lucie Blackburn
Anne Barber Shadow Play
Brad Harley Shadow Play
Alexandra Montagnese Image Manipulator
Bronwyn Clement Image Manipulator
Sequoia Erickson Image Manipulator

Creative Team

Kathleen McDonnell Playwright
Bryn McLeod Director
John Maize Lighting Designer
Lindsay Woods Costumes
Joseph McLeod "The Story"


Martha Farquhar-McDonnell Treble
Isla Craig Treble
Frances Miller Treble
Ariel Cikvar Treble
Ivy Mairi Alto
Kathleen McDonnell Alto
Sarah Davignon Alto
Frank Griggs Tenor
Max Kelly Tenor
Gabriel Levine Bass
D. Alex Meeks Bass
Andrew Patten Bass