Advanced Search

Advanced Search

A Raisin in the Sun ()

Produced by

Soulpepper Theatre Company

Playwright: Lorraine Hansberry
Director: Weyni Mengesha


The Michael Young Theatre


October 15th, 2010 – November 13th, 2010


Three generations of a black American family discover love, dignity, courage, and hope amidst the tribulations of racial intolerance. (


Awaovieyi Agie Joseph Asagai
Barbara Barnes-Hopkins Mrs. Johnson
Dion Johnstone George Murchison
Matthew Kabwe Bobo
Abena Malika Ruth Younger
Diego Matamoros Karl Lindner
Charles Officer Walter Lee Younger
Kofi Payton Travis Younger
Alison Sealy-Smith Lena Younger
Bahia Watson Beneatha Younger

Creative Team

Lorraine Hansberry Playwright
Weyni Mengesha Director
Scott Reid Set Designer
Lorenzo Savoini Costume Designer
Kevin Lamotte Lighting Designer
Richard Feren Sound Designer
Simon Fon Fight Director
Andrew Smith Assistant Lighting Designer


Alison Peddie Stage Manager
Giselle Clarke-Trenaman Assistant Stage Manager
Lynette Blanchard Chaperone


Greg Poulin Production Manager
Mary-Jo Carter Dodd Head of Wardrobe
Sarah Reade Wardrobe Assistant
Mike Ledermueller Technical Director
Andy DeVries Head Carpenter
Erin Birkenbergs Technical Coordinator
Stephanie Ripley Assistant Technical Director
Lisa Nighswander Head of Properties
Shannon Lintott Production Assistant
Phil Atfield Cutter
Joanne Lamberton Cutter
Janet Pym Dresser
Natalie Swiercz Dresser
Jacqueline Robertson-Cull Head of Hair and Makeup
Laura Bolton Wig Mistress
Kathleen Johnston Wardrobe Coordinator
Janet Pym Sewer
Ryan Wilson Carpenter
Greg Chambers Props
Vanessa Janiszewski Props
Jane Kline Props
David Rayfield Head Scenic Artist
Steve Hudak Scenic Artist
Daniela Mazic Scenic Artist
Danielle Demeny Painter
Stefan Lenzi Acting Associate Technical Director
Jason Browning House Technician
Sean Pederson House Technician
Pascale Thibodeau House Technician