Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Girl From The North Country ()

Produced by

Old Vic Productions PLC and Runaway Entertainment and Sony Music Entertainment UK

Presented by

Mirvish Productions

Playwright: Conor McPherson
Music: Bob Dylan
Lyrics: Bob Dylan
Director: Conor McPherson


The Royal Alexandra Theatre


September 28th, 2019 – November 24th, 2019


Duluth, Minnesota. 1934. A community living on a knife-edge huddle together in the local guesthouse.

The owner, Nick, owes more money than he can ever repay, his wife Elizabeth is losing her mind, and their daughter Marianne is carrying a child no-one will account for. When a preacher selling bibles and a boxer looking for a comeback show up in the middle of the night, things start to spiral beyond the point of no return…

Award-winning playwright Conor McPherson beautifully weaves the iconic songbook of Bob Dylan into this powerful new show full of hope, heartbreak, and soul. (


Daniel Bailey Ensemble / Understudy for Joe Scott, Elias Burke & Gene Laine
Colin Bates Gene Laine
Katie Brayben Elizabeth Laine
Anna-Jane Casey Mrs. Burke
Nicholle Cherrie Ensemble / Understudy for Marianne & Katherine Draper
David Ganly Mr. Burke
Simon Gordon Ensemble / Understudy for Gene Laine
Steffan Harri Elias Burke
David Haydn Ensemble / Understudy for Nick Laine, Mr. Burke & Reverend Marlowe
Rachel John Mrs. Neilsen
Sidney Kean Mr. Perry
Finbar Lynch Reverend Marlowe
Donald Sage Mackay Nick Laine
Gloria Obianyo Marianne
Ferdy Roberts Dr. Walker
Wendy Somerville Ensemble / Understudy for Mrs. Burke, Elizabeth Laine & Mrs. Neilsen
Gemma Sutton Katherine Draper
Shaq Taylor Joe Scott
Alan Vicary Ensemble / Understudy for Dr. Walker & Mr. Perry

Creative Team

Conor McPherson Playwright
Bob Dylan Music
Bob Dylan Lyrics
Conor McPherson Director
Ian Ross Music Director
Mark Camilleri Assistant Musical Director
Rae Smith Designer
Simon Hale Orchestrations
Simon Hale Music Arrangements
Simon Hale Additional Music Arrangements
Conor McPherson Additional Music Arrangements
Mark Henderson Lighting Designer
Simon Baker Sound Designer
Lucy Hind Movement Director
Kate Budgen Associate Director
Jessica Daniels Resident Director
Will Fricker Associate Scenic Designer
Poppy Hall Associate Costume Designer
Charles Coes Associate Sound Designer


Ian Ross Piano & Harmonium
Tanya Charles Iveniuk Violin & Mandolin
Jason Fowler Lap Steep Resonator & Acoustic and Nylon Steel Guitars
Pat Kilbride Upright Bass


Mark Camilleri Music Contractor
Simon Hale Musical Supervision
Jessica Ronane Casting
Dominic Fraser Production Manager
Pete Kramer Production Manager
Aaron Lustbader Executive Producer
Paul Elliott Consultant Producer
Steven Lappin Producer
Tristan Baker Producer
Charlie Parsons Producer
Isobel David Associate Producer
Kat Pierce Production Assistant
Victoria Wilkinson Sound Supervisor
Joanne Hayes Head of Wardrobe
Russ Spencer Company Manager
Jeff Brancato Stage Manager
Ian Andlaw Stage Manager
Emma Tooze Assistant Stage Manager
Greg Reif Sound No. 1
Andrew Keister Sound No. 2
Lisa Buckley Props Supervisor
Denzil Keim Production Carpenter
Stuart Cross Lighting Associate
Stuart Cross Lighting Board Programmer
John Still Production Lighting
Martin Chisnall Production Lighting
Abby Galvin Associate Casting Director
Joe Evans Drum Teacher
Phil Hopkins Harmonica Teacher
Jill McCullough Dialect Coach
David Mirvish Producer
Brian Sewell Executive Producer
David Mucci Managing Director
Scot Whitham Director of Production
Linda Intaschi Associate Producer
Charles Chu Associate General Manager
Charles Chu Company Manager
Sarah Sisko Assistant Producer
Chris Prideaux Production Manager
Nathan Giles Production Manager
Brianne Gwartz Assistant Production Manager
Desirée Proveau Production Administrator
Anika Nater Associate Company Manager
Jen Cooper Assistant Company Manager
Tristan Gough Videographer


Ron Jacobson General Manager
Kevin McCarthy Senior Maintenance Manager
Mike Puhacz Head Audio
Blair Egglestone Head of Flies
John Still Head Electrician
Mike Still Lighting Board Operator
Guy Gualtieri Head of Properties
Pam Weston Head of Wardrobe
Michelle Munn Assistant Head of Wardrobe
Craig Kilander Head of Hair and Makeup