Advanced Search

Advanced Search

The Barber of Seville ()

Produced by

Soulpepper Theatre Company

Director: Leah Cherniak

By Michael O’Brien, Adapted from Beaumarchais

Music By John Millard, Adapted from Rossini


The Michael Young Theatre


May 9 - May 14, 2013


May 9th, 2013 – June 8th, 2013

Awards & Nominations

2014 Dora Award Nominee ~ Musical Theatre – Outstanding Production, Outstanding New Musical/Opera


A free-wheeling adaptation of The Barber of Seville by Michael O’Brien and John Millard, based on the play by Beaumarchais and the opera by Rossini. This all-new update of Theatre Columbus’s sensational 1996 musical caper follows the beloved story of the young Count Almaviva and his pursuit of the untouchable Rosina with the help of the irrepressible Figaro, Barber of Seville. (


Dan Chameroy Figaro
Lise Cormier Sancho
Oliver Dennis Don Bartolo
Raquel Duffy Bertina
Courtney Ch’ng Lancaster Rosina, Flute
Gregory Prest Count Almaviva
William Webster Don Basilio
Daniel Williston Pancho, Padre Guitar

Creative Team

Michael O’Brien Adapter
Michael O’Brien Playwright
Pierre Beaumarchais Playwright
John Millard Adapter
John Millard Composer
John Millard Music Director
Gioachino Rossini Composer
Leah Cherniak Director
Ken MacKenzie Set Designer
Victoria Wallace Costume Designer
Jason Hand Lighting Designer
Michael Laird Sound Designer
Julia Aplin Choreographer
Simon Fon Fight Director
Guillermo Verdecchia Dramaturge
Thomas Swanye Assistant Director


Gregory Oh Rehearsal Pianist
Rob Clutton Bass, Guitar, Mandolin
Rick Hyslop Officer 2, Violin, Guitar
Tiina Kiik Accordion
John Millard Officer 1, Banjo


Robert Harding Stage Manager
Elizabeth McDermott Assistant Stage Manager
Patricia O’Callaghan Vocal Coach
Kelly McEvenue Alexander Coach
Jacqueline Robertson-Cull Head of Hair and Makeup
Janet Pym Wardrobe Coordinator
Geoff Hughes Cutter
Barbara Nowakowski First Hand
Natalie Swiercz Dresser
Greg Chambers Props Builder
Silvie Varone Props Builder
Daniela Mazic Scenic Painter


Greg Poulin Production Manager
Mike Ledermueller Technical Director
Andrew Hillman Associate Technical Director
Kelly Read Associate Technical Director
Sarah Elizabeth Noyes Head of Wardrobe
Lisa Nighswander Head of Properties
Duncan Johnstone Head Scenic Artist
Andy DeVries Head Carpenter
Eleni McKinnon Production Assistant