Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Rocking Horse Winner ()

Produced by

Crow’s Theatre and Tapestry Opera

Composer: Gareth Williams
Librettist: Anna Chatterton
Director: Michael Hidetoshi Mori


Streetcar Crowsnest – The Guloien Theatre


November 1st, 2023 – November 12th, 2023


Winner of five Dora Mavor Moore Awards, including Outstanding Production and Outstanding Direction, ROCKING HORSE WINNER is a modern adaptation of D. H. Lawrence’s masterful short story of the same name. This powerful one-act opera combines magical realism and lyrical minimalism to offer an intimate, psychological look at love, luck, greed, and obsession. (


Asitha Tennekoon The House
Lucia Cesaroni The House
Peter McGillivray The House
Keith Klassen The House
Midori Marsh The House
Alex Hetherington The House
Anika Venkatesh The House
Korin Thomas-Smith The House

Creative Team

Gareth Williams Composer
Anna Chatterton Librettist
Michael Hidetoshi Mori Director
Kamna Gupta Music Director
郝邦宇Steven Hao Assistant Director
Ming Wong Costume Designer
Echo Zhou 周芷會 Lighting Designer
Jawon Kang Set Designer
Camellia Koo Original Set Designer


Kamna Gupta Conductor
Aysel Taghi-Zada Violin
Tanya Charles Iveniuk Violin
Brenna McLane Viola
Sybil Shanahan Cello
Stephane Mayer Piano
Stephane Mayer Répétiteur


Myra A. Malley Stage Manager
Tamara Vuckovic Assistant Stage Manager
Carlos Varela Production Manager
Micah Champagne Production Manager
Kathleen Johnston Head of Wardrobe
Jingyi Zhou Surtitles


Heather Landon Senior Producer
Beth Wong Producer
LJ Savage Production Manager
Ryan Borshuk Technical Director
Amber Rea Assistant Technical Director
Jay Hines House Technician
Zachery White House Technician
Sergey Kublanovskiy House Technician