Advanced Search

Advanced Search

The Dybbuk or Between Two Worlds ()

Produced by

Soulpepper Theatre Company

Adapter: Anton Piatigorsky
Director: Albert Schultz

Based on the Play by S. Ansky


The Marilyn and Charles Baillie Theatre


May 14th, 2015 – June 18th, 2015


The most celebrated play of Yiddish literature is presented in a new adaptation by award-winning Canadian playwright Anton Piatigorsky. Boundaries between the natural and supernatural worlds dissolve as ill-fated pledges and untimely deaths ensnare two families in this tale of powerful young love and spiritual possession. (


Colleen Allen Musician
Derek Boyes Rabbi Mendel / Various
Dan Chameroy Meyer / Nakhman / Second Judge
Leah Cherniak Frayde
Laura Condlln Blind Woman / Various
Mikaela Davies Gittel / Various
Caitlin Driscoll Various
Peter Fernandes Henekh / Various
Katherine Gauthier Bessye / Various
Hailey Gillis Leah
Gordon Hecht Various
John Jarvis Mikhl / Various
Richard Lam Menashe / Various
Diana LeBlanc Channa-Esther / Various
Diego Matamoros Messenger
Amy Matysio Various
Colin Palangio Channon
Ron Pederson First Judge / Various
Jordan Pettle Asher / Rabbi Shimshin / Various
Alex Poch-Goldin Sender
Paolo Santalucia Various
William Webster Rabbi Azriel / Various

Creative Team

S. Ansky Playwright
Anton Piatigorsky Adapter
Albert Schultz Director
Lorenzo Savoini Set Designer
Shannon Lea Doyle Costume Designer
Bonnie Beecher Lighting Designer
Mike Ross Composer
Richard Feren Composer
Mike Ross Sound Designer
Richard Feren Sound Designer
Erin Brandenburg Assistant Director


Robert Harding Production Stage Manager
Laurie Merredew Assistant Stage Manager
Alice Barnett Apprentice Stage Manager
Kelly McEvenue Alexander Coach


Jacqueline Robertson-Cull Head of Hair and Makeup
Stefan Dean Cutter
Geoff Hughes Cutter
Ilana Harendorf First Hand
Barbara Nowakowski First Hand
Isaac Robinson Carpenter
Greg Chambers Props Builder
Michael Baumgart Props Handling
Paul Boddum Scenic Painter
LJ Savage Director of Production
Greg Poulin Production Manager
Mike Ledermueller Technical Director
Andrew Hillman Associate Technical Director
Andrew Leeke Associate Technical Director
Evan Bonnah-Hawkes Assistant Technical Director
Sarah Elizabeth Noyes Head of Wardrobe
Lisa Nighswander Head of Properties
Duncan Johnstone Head Scenic Artist
Andy DeVries Head Carpenter
Erika Connor Lead Wardrobe Coordinator
Jason Browning House Technician
Megan Burns House Technician
Melissa Grandovec House Technician