Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Les Misérables ()

Produced by

Cameron Mackintosh Ltd and Mirvish Productions and NETworks Presentations LLC

Music: Claude-Michel Schönberg
Lyrics: Herbert Kretzmer
Adapter: Trevor Nunn and John Caird
Directors: Laurence Connor and James Powell

A musical based on the novel by Victor Hugo.

Original French text by Alain Boublil and Jean-Marc Natel.


The Princess of Wales Theatre


September 27th - October 9th, 2013


September 27th, 2013 – February 2nd, 2014

Awards & Nominations

2014 Dora Award Winner ~ Musical Theatre – Outstanding Performance by a Female (Melissa O’Neil), Outstanding Costume Design

2014 Dora Award Nominee ~ Musical Theatre – Outstanding Production, Outstanding Performance by a Male (Aiden Glenn), Outstanding Performance by a Male (Mark Uhre), Outstanding Performance by a Male (Ramin Karimloo), Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, Outstanding Direction, Outstanding Scenic Design, Outstanding Lighting Design, Outstanding Choreography

2014 Toronto Theatre Critics Award Winner – Best Actor in a Musical (Ramin Karimloo)

2013 BroadwayWorld Toronto Award Winner – Best Musical, Best Direction of A Musical, Best Leading Actor in a Musical (Ramin Karimloo), Best Original Choreography, Best Original Lighting Design, Best Original Set Design, Best Original Sound Design, Best Performance by a Female in a Featured Role in a Musical (Saara Chaudry), Best Performance by a Male in a Featured Role in a Musical (Aiden Glenn), Best Understudy (Aaron Walpole)


Based on Victor Hugo’s classic novel, LES MISÉRABLES is an epic and uplifting story about the survival of the human spirit. (


Ramin Karimloo Jean Valjean
Earl Carpenter Javert
Andrew Love The Bishop of Digne / Lesgles / Understudy for Javert
Genevieve LeClerc Fantine
Lisa Horner Madame Thénardier
Cliff Saunders Thénardier
David Gregory Black Gavroche
Aiden Glenn Gavroche
Melissa O’Neil Éponine
Samantha Hill Cosette
Mark Uhre Enjolras
Perry Sherman Marius
Ella Ballentine Little Cosette / Young Éponine
Richard Barth Swing / Understudy for Bamatabois and Grantaire
Katie Beetham Ensemble / Understudy for Mme. Thénardier
Andréane Bouladier Ensemble / Understudy for Cosette
Saara Chaudry Little Cosette / Young Éponine
Caroline Colantonio Innkeeper's Wife / Understudy for Cosette
Ben Gunderson Swing / Understudy for Grantaire
Brittney Johnson Ensemble / Understudy for Éponine
Elena Juatco Ensemble / Understudy for Éponine
Cornelia Luna Wigmaker / Understudy for Fantine
Heather McGuigan Swing / Understudy for Fantine and Factory Girl
Marisa McIntyre Ensemble
Matt McMahan Feuilly / Understudy for Marius
Tyler Murree Farmer / Babet / Understudy for Thénardier and Bamatabois
Madison Oldroyd Little Cosette / Young Éponine
Jason Ostrowski Swing / Understudy for Factory Foreman
Kristen Peace Factory / Old Woman / Understudy for Mme. Thénardier
John Rapson Grantaire / Bamatabois / Major Domo / Understudy for Javert, Thénardier, and The Bishop of Digne
Rachel Rincione Swing / Understudy for Factory Girl
Matt Rosell Jean Prouvaire / Understudy for Marius
David Silvestri Combeferre / Understudy for Jean Valjean, The Bishop of Digne, and Factory Foreman
Aaron Walpole Champmathieu / Brujon / Loud Hailer / Alternate for Jean Valjean
Jonathan Winsby Constable / Courfeyrac / Understudy for Enjolras and Grantaire
Ashley Wright Innkeeper / Factory Foreman / Claquesous
Chris Zonneville Labourer / Montparnasse

Creative Team

Victor Hugo Author
Claude-Michel Schönberg Music
Herbert Kretzmer Lyrics
Alain Boublil Original French Text
Jean-Marc Natel Original French Text
James Fenton Additional Material
Trevor Nunn Adapter
John Caird Adapter
John Cameron Original Orchestrations
Christopher Jahnke New Orchestrations
Stephen Metcalfe Additional Orchestrations
Stephen Brooker Additional Orchestrations
Michael Ashcroft Musical Staging
Mick Potter Sound
Paule Constable Lighting
Andreane Neofitou Costume Designer
Christine Rowland Costume Designer
Matt Kinley Set Design
Matt Kinley Image Design
Laurence Connor Director
James Powell Director
Geoffrey Garratt Associate Choreographer
James Dodgson Musical Director
Wayne Gwillim Assistant Musical Director
Stephen Brooker Musical Supervisor
Anthony Lyn Associate Director
Corey Agnew Resident Director


James Dodgson Conductor
William J. Curry III Associate Conductor
Mary-Elizabeth Brown Concert Master
Leslie Allt Reeds I
Lief Mosbaugh Reeds II
Mark Promane Reeds III
Erin Cooper-Gay French Horn I
Nicole Alexander French Horn II
Norman Engel Trumpet
Andrew Chappell Trombone
Wayne Gwillim Keyboard I
Greg Diakun Keyboard II
Nick Coulter Percussion
Mary-Elizabeth Brown Violin
Jeewon Kim Violin II
William J. Curry III Viola
Amy Laing Cello
Rachel Pomedli Cello II
Tom Hazlitt Bass
Wayne Gwillim Rehearsal Pianist
Greg Diakun Rehearsal Pianist
Michael Vieira Rehearsal Pianist


The. John Gray Production Stage Manager
Chris Porter Stage Manager
Lisa Humber Assistant Stage Manager
Cameron Mackintosh Producer
David Mirvish Producer
Stephanie Gorin Canadian Casting
Tara Rubin U.S. Casting
Rick Whitelaw Music Contractor
Ben Gunderson Dance Captain
Ben Gunderson Fight Captain
Heather McGuigan Assistant Dance Captain
Jonathan Winsby Assistant Fight Captain
David Mucci General Manager
Charles Chu Company Manager
Scot Whitham Production Manager
Jason Juenker Production Manager
Spencer New Production Manager
Chris Boone Production Manager
Nathan Giles Assistant Production Manager
Joe Bostick Fight Director
Tommy Hague Lighting Programmer
James Fedigan Production Electrician
Nic Gray Associate Sound Designer
Nick Simmons Projection Programmer
Daniel Mueller Production AV Technician
Stuart Andrews Keyboard Programmer
Jimm Halliday Costume Supervisor
Kim Cunik Assistant Head of Wardrobe
Bernie Ardia Wig Supervisor
Denise Farrell Assistant Head of Wigs
Janine Nater Apprentice Stage Manager
Sarah Katz Apprentice Stage Manager
Janine Nater Child Chaperone
Sarah Katz Child Chaperone
Cylla von Tiedemann Production Photographer
Matt Murphy Production Photographer
George Moore Production Driver


Tom Locke Head Carpenter
Chris Sinton Head of Flies
Ron Montgomery, Jr. Head Electrician
Sean Taylor Head of Properties
Pam Weston Head of Wardrobe
Helen Gregor Head of Wigs