Advanced Search

Advanced Search

The Forbidden Phoenix ()

Produced by

Citadel Theatre and Young People’s Theatre

Book: Marty Chan
Lyrics: Marty Chan and Robert Walsh
Music: Robert Walsh
Director: Ron Jenkins


The Susan Rubes Theatre


February 2nd, 2009 – March 11th, 2009


This enthralling fable is a fusion of martial arts, acrobatics, stunning costumes, and contemporary musical theatre. It cleverly weaves the comic antics of traditional Monkey King stories with the powerful tale of a father’s sacrifice to provide for his family.

Sun Wukong is the Monkey King who is torn from his son and exiled to the West after displeasing the formidable Empress Dowager. Forced to work for the mighty Horne in Terminal City, he sets off to make his fortune and to realize his dream of being reunited with his son.

An opulent new musical, The Forbidden Phoenix is loosely based on the experience of Chinese immigrants brought to Canada to work on the railroad in the 1800s, and explores themes of freedom, diversity, family, community and environmentalism. (


Michael Dufays Horne
Troy Feldman Tsaio
Lori Nancy Kalamanski Phoenix / Empress Dowager Cover
Shannon Kook-Chun Laosan
Richard Lee Sun Wukong
Colin Maier Kwoi
Peter Moller Musician
Jonathan Purvis Sichen
Siobhan Richardson Mu Lan
Nadine Villasin Empress Dowager / Phoenix Cover
Jeff Yung Bailing

Creative Team

Marty Chan Book
Marty Chan Lyrics
Robert Walsh Lyrics
Robert Walsh Music
Ron Jenkins Director
Leslie Frankish Set Designer
Leslie Frankish Costume Designer
Wayne Paquette Assistant Director
Adrian Young Fight Director
Laura Krewski Choreographer
Narda McCarroll Lighting Designer
Gavin McDonald Associate Lighting Designer
Michael Laird Toronto Sound Designer
Owen Hutchinson Sound Effects Design


Michelle Chan Stage Manager
Sarah Bustard Assistant Stage Manager
William Lau Peking Opera Specialist / Teacher
Colin Maier Dance Captain
Siobhan Richardson Fight Captain
Ina Kerklaan Cutter
Barbara Nowakowski Stitcher
Miranda Lumley Dresser
Matt Jordan Backstage Crew
Shanna Miller Crew
Dan McIlmoyl Crew
Matthew Marshall Crew


Jeff Cummings Production Manager
Nathaniel Kennedy Technical Director
Ian A. Bailie Head Electrician
Gavin Fearon Head of Audio
Mary Fulford-Winsor Head of Wardrobe
Scott Kitcher Stage Carpenter
Jacquie Lazar Acting Head Electrician
Elaine Cavin May Assistant Head of Wardrobe
Craig Smith Head Scenic Carpenter
Silvie Varone Head of Properties