Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Sultans of the Street ()

Produced by

Young People’s Theatre

Playwright: Anusree Roy
Director: Nina Lee Aquino


The Susan Rubes Theatre


April 28 - 30, 2014


April 28th, 2014 – May 15th, 2014

Awards & Nominations

2014 Dora Award Winner ~ TYA – Outstanding Production, Outstanding New Play, Outstanding Direction, Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble, Outstanding Performance (Colin Doyle)

2014 Dora Award Nominee ~ TYA – Outstanding Performance (Ali Momen), Outstanding Performance (Zorana Sadiq)


Four children from different social classes – two with the desire to purchase better kites, two with the simple wish to attend school – are trapped in a world of begging on the streets of Kolkata, India. Dressed as gods they bless the generous and threaten to curse those who are not. Together, the quartet must work to escape servitude to the mysterious “Aunty” and set a course for a new life. (


Colin A. Doyle Ojha
Mina James Mala
Richard Lee Chun Chun
Ali Momen Prakash
Zorana Sadiq Aunty / Pao Bhaji Wallah

Creative Team

Anusree Roy Playwright
Nina Lee Aquino Director
Camellia Koo Set Designer
Camellia Koo Costume Designer
Michelle Ramsay Lighting Designer
Michelle Bensimon Sound Designer
Michelle Bensimon Composer
Stephen Colella Dramaturge
Thomas Morgan Jones Movement Director


Giselle Clarke-Trenaman Stage Manager
Robin Munro Apprentice Stage Manager
Nick Rose Carpenter
Matt Jordan Carpenter
Katie Horrill Props Builder
Elaine Cavin May Wardrobe Mistress
Milena Radeva Soft Props
Stefan Dean Costumer
Lily Messerhuber Costume Buyer
Lily Messerhuber Scenic Stitcher
Nick Rose Crew
Harrison Bye Crew
Patrick Lavender Crew
Parker Nowlan Crew
Shanna Miller Crew
Shawn Henry Crew
Debbie Courchene Crew
Gabriel Ripley Crew
Dan Fletcher Crew
Peter Tresnak Production Co-op Student


Ian Arnold Production Manager
Alexis Buset Technical Director
Scott Kitcher Stage Carpenter
Scott Kitcher Operations Assistant
Aiden Nagle Head Audio
Josh McGill Head Electrician
Ryan Wilson Head Scenic Carpenter
Lokki Ma Head of Properties
Barb Martin Head of Wardrobe
Elaine Cavin May Assistant Head of Wardrobe