Advanced Search

Advanced Search

The Election ()

Produced by

Common Boots Theatre and Nightwood Theatre and Theatre Direct

Presented by

Theatre Passe Muraille

Playwrights: Natasha Greenblatt and Yolanda Bonnell
Director: Jennifer Brewin

Written with the company.


October 10th, 2019 – October 27th, 2019


In 2015, a group of theatre artists signed up to the Canadian Federal Election as volunteers for three major political parties and documented their interactions. Exploring the realities of Indigenous, settler and newcomer experiences with the political process, The Election sparks urgent dialogue just as Canadians take another swing at the ballot box. With a live vocal score, this play asks: Do we have a voice and does that voice count? (


Augusto Bitter Land Voice / Terry / Anthony / Others
Rachel Cairns Land Voice / Zoe / Leslie / Others
Joelle Peters Land Voice / Skye / Meenakshi / Others
Anand Rajaram Land Voice / Samraj / Remi / Others
Rose Stella Land Voice / Milly / Abinisha / Others
Courtenay Stevens Land Voice / Jake / Landon / Others

Creative Team

Natasha Greenblatt Playwright
Yolanda Bonnell Playwright
Jennifer Brewin Director
Anahita Dehbonehie Set Designer
Kaitlin Hickey Lighting Designer
Jackie Chau Costume Designer
Alex Samaras Composer
Yvette Nolan Dramaturge
Alex Bulmer Contributing Artist - Script / Voice / Dramaturgy
Theresa Cutknife Assistant Director
Raechel E. Kula Associate Set Designer
Farnoosh Talebpour Associate Costume Designer


Meghan Speakman Stage Manager
Stephanie Taylor Apprentice Stage Manager
Katherine Smith Production Manager
Eric Read Technical Director
Elizabeth Kenny Assistant Production Manager
Farnoosh Talebpour Wardrobe
Elizabeth Morris Deaf Community Consultant
Nicole Smieja Open Captioning
Marcia Yale Braille Program
Jessie Fraser Associate Producer


David Fisher Mainspace Technician
Eric Read Production Manager