Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Minotaur ()

Produced by

Clwyd Theatre Cymru Theatre for Young People and Polka Theatre and Young People’s Theatre

Playwright: Kevin Dyer
Director: Alan Dilworth


The Susan Rubes Theatre


March 24th, 2014 – April 13th, 2014

Awards & Nominations

2014 Dora Award Nominee ~ TYA – Outstanding New Play, Outstanding Direction, Outstanding Performance (Bahareh Yaraghi), Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble


Freddie, a 12 year-old boy, receives urgent, cryptic text messages from his soldier Dad in an unnamed, war-torn country. While he attempts to decipher these messages, an Ogre and the Queen of Minos appear in his backyard, dragging him into the past in the role of Theseus, whose destiny was to slay the Minotaur and save his father, King Aegeus. Freddie accepts the quest believing it is the only way he can help his Dad, who is trapped in a foreign war with no way out. (


Raven Dauda Mom / Aethra
Jakob Ehman Freddie / Theseus
Cyrus Lane Ogre / Periphites / Pig / Nephew 29 / Minotaur / Man
Karen Robinson Pasiphae
Jeffrey Wetsch Dad / Aegeus / Sinus / Pig / Minos
Bahareh Yaraghi Ariadne / Gypsy Queen

Creative Team

Kevin Dyer Playwright
Alan Dilworth Director
Jung-Hye Kim Set Designer
Robin Fisher Costume Designer
Kimberly Purtell Lighting Designer
Debashis Sinha Sound Designer
Stephen Colella Dramaturge
Thomas Morgan Jones Movement Consultant
Simon Fon Fight Director
Oz Weaver Assistant Lighting Designer


Marinda de Beer Stage Manager
Ashley Ireland Assistant Stage Manager
Matt Armour Crew
Harrison Bye Crew
Jenn Hewitt Crew
Matt Jordan Crew
Patrick Lavender Crew
Shanna Miller Crew
Parker Nowlan Crew
Nick Rose Crew


Ian Arnold Consulting Director of Production
Alexis Buset Technical Director
Mattea Kennedy Head Scenic Artist
Ellie Arscott Scenic Artist
Scott Kitcher Stage Carpenter
Scott Kitcher Operations Assistant
Aiden Nagle Head of Audio
Lokki Ma Head of Properties
Katie Horrill Props Builder
Danny Tran Props Builder
Barb Martin Head of Wardrobe
Elaine Cavin May Assistant to the Head of Wardrobe
Elaine Cavin May Wardrobe Mistress
Laura Coats Cutter
Sue Furlong Cutter
Milena Radeva Soft Props
Johanna Edwards Costumer
Ilana Harendorf Costumer
Carolyn Kasperski Costumer
Lily Messerhuber Costumer
Josh McGill Head Electrician
Ryan Wilson Head Scenic Carpenter
Nick Rose Assistant Carpenter
Nick Rose Assistant Carpenter