Advanced Search

Advanced Search

The Government Inspector ()

Produced by

Soulpepper Theatre Company

Playwright: Nikolai Gogol
Adapter: Morris Panych
Director: Morris Panych


The Marilyn and Charles Baillie Theatre


January 24th, 2006 – March 23rd, 2006


A brand new version of Gogol’s hilarious examination of small town corruption, petty bureaucracy and human folly, all set in motion by a case of mistaken identity. (


Derek Boyes Ukhovyortov
Ben Carlson Khlopov
Les Carlson Lyapkin
Oliver Dennis Osip
Ted Dykstra Bobchinsky
Deborah Hay Marya
John Jarvis Dobchinsky
Charmion King Spectre / Shpyokin's Wife
Jeff Lillico Mishka
Martha MacIsaac Zemlyanika's Wife
Diego Matamoros Khlestakov
Nancy Palk Anna
Michael Simpson Shpyokin
James Dallas Smith Waiter
Jane Spidell Blacksmith's Wife / Lyapkin's Wife
Jim Warren Zemlyanika
William Webster Mayor

Creative Team

Nikolai Gogol Playwright
Morris Panych Adapter
Morris Panych Director
Ken MacDonald Set Designer
Judith Bowden Costume Designer
Paul Mathieson Lighting Designer


Nancy Dryden Production Stage Manager
Michael Sinclair Rehearsal Production Stage Manager
Janet Gregor Assistant Stage Manager
Malina Patel Rehearsal Assistant Stage Manager
Jessica Severin Apprentice Stage Manager
Matt Tiffin Assistant to Mr. Panych


Ray Salverda Director of Production
Matt Farrell Technical Director
Mary-Jo Carter Dodd Wardrobe Supervisor
Erin Hanowski Wardrobe Assistant
Joanne Lamberton Cutter (For Anna & Marya)
Sue Furlong Cutter
Phil Atfield Sewer
Janine Cockburn Sewer
Lina Falomkina Sewer
Geoff Hughes Sewer
Elaine Cavin May Sewer
Barbara Nowakowski Sewer
Martha Paul Sewer
Karen Rodd Sewer
Jacqueline Robertson-Cull Hair and Makeup
Diane Jenkins Buyer
Kaz Maxine Millinery
Elaine Cavin May Dresser
Raelene Worthington Dresser
Lisa Nighswander Head of Properties
Monique Stewart Props Builder
Will Sutton Head Carpenter
Andy DeVries Assistant Head Carpenter
Scott Dutrisac Carpenter
Bryan Eaton Carpenter
Brad Farinacci Carpenter
Robin Johnston Carpenter
Matthew Pochwalowski Carpenter
Bill Stahl Carpenter
Justin Theobald Carpenter
David Rayfield Head Scenic Artist
Ellie Arscott Scenic Artist
Kelly Palmer Scenic Artist
Jennifer Chovancek Scenic Artist
Daniela Mazic Scenic Artist
Stefan Lenzi Production Assistant
Jennifer Triemstra Set & Construction Intern
G. Stuart Baulch House Technician
Jason Browning House Technician
Bill Zeilstra House Technician