Advanced Search

Advanced Search

The Ecstasy of Mother Teresa or: Agnes Bojaxhiu Superstar ()

Produced by

Ecce Homo Theatre

Presented by

The SummerWorks Performance Festival

Playwright: Alistair Newton
Director: Alistair Newton
Composer: Reza Jacobs
Musical Director: Dan Rutzen


The Great Hall – Longboat Hall


August 6th, 2009 – August 16th, 2009


How did an Albanian nun named Agnes Bojaxhiu become Mother Teresa, Catholic fundamentalist superstar? Was Mother T a friend of the poor or of poverty? Ecce Homo assumes the missionary position in the search for uncomfortable questions and complicated answers; an expressionist Pageant Play live from the slums of Calcutta. (2009 Summerworks Festival Program)


Nisha Ahuja Pope John Paul II / The Indian Reporter
Andrew Bathory Teresa of Avila / Therese de Liseux / George Tiller / Union Carbide Picketer #1 / Jesus Christ / Monica Besra's Husband
Matthew Boden The Devil / Malcolm Muggeridge / The Union Carbide Spokesman
Matt Eger The Mental Defective / Paul William Roberts / The Parishioner / Union Carbide Picketer #2
Jason Gaignard The Angel / George Benard Shaw / Union Carbide Picketer #3
Andrea Kwan The Ottawa Citizen Reporter / The Reporter / The CNN Reporter / The Little Girl
Michelle Langille Saint Teresa of Avila / Saint Therese de Liseux / The Missionary Sister / The Governor General / The BBC Reporter / Monica Besra
Kaitlyn Regehr Agnes Bojaxhiu
Chy Ryan Spain The Minstrel / Henry Morgentaler / Union Carbide Picketer #4

Creative Team

Alistair Newton Playwright
Alistair Newton Director
Matt Jackson Production Designer
Reza Jacobs Original Music
Dan Rutzen Musical Director
Nisha Ahuja Choreographer
Kaitlyn Regehr Choreographer
Kasia Skeoch Tap Choreographer
Marianne Jetté Assistant to the Designer


Dan Rutzen Pianist


Charlotte Moffatt Stage Manager
Rebecca Harrison Producer
Nisha Ahuja Hindu Translations
Nisha Ahuja Dialect Coach
Mina James Assistant Stage Manager
Katherine Smith Scenic Carpenter
Aidan O’Connor Scenic Carpenter


Matt Jordan Venue Technician
Jason Golinsky Venue Technician
Gavin MacDonald Festival Lighting Designer