Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Necessary Angel Theatre Company

Artistic Director: Alan Dilworth

Necessary Angel is dedicated to fully exploring the theatrical arts. We create original work that challenges assumptions and engages multiple points of view, while seeking to provoke and astonish.

Necessary Angel has been an influential and original presence on the national and international theatre scene for over 30 years. Having produced more than 50 productions, including 27 world premieres and 10 North American premieres, Necessary Angel is considered one of English Canada’s most important original creation and touring organizations. The company’s plays have been nominated for and have won numerous Governor General’s Awards for Drama, Chalmers Awards for Outstanding New Play, and countless Dora Mavor Moore Awards.

Over the years, Necessary Angel has welcomed the participation of outstanding literary icons, including Michael Ondaatje and Timothy Findley, while also developing new work with some of Canada’s leading playwrights, including Daniel MacIvor, John Mighton, Colleen Murphy, Jason Sherman, Colleen Wagner, and David Young, whose works have become acclaimed on stages around the globe.

Necessary Angel tours its work to prominent theatres and festivals across Canada and internationally. In recent years, the company has travelled to every major Canadian city and several international destinations including Edinburgh, Florence, Glasgow, Melbourne, Miami and Munich.

In 2008, Necessary Angel founded an innovative Associate Artist program, made possible by the generous gift of Judith Harris in honour of Tony Woolfson’s 60th birthday. The program allowed the company to invite visionary theatre artists Graham McLaren and Brigitte Haentjens to create theatrical work of lasting importance for national and international touring.



Produced by Necessary Angel Theatre Company

Letters From Max, a ritual November 10th, 2023 – December 3rd, 2023
Hermaphroditus July 6th, 2023 – July 16th, 2023
New April 25th, 2023 – May 14th, 2023
Is God Is May 6th, 2022 – May 22nd, 2022
The Events March 1st, 2020 – March 15th, 2020
Escaped Alone October 28th, 2018 – October 25th, 2018
A City March 14th, 2017 – April 2nd, 2017
All But Gone October 11th, 2016 – November 6th, 2016
Hedda Gabler January 12th, 2016 – February 7th, 2016
It Comes in Waves July 13th, 2015 – July 24th, 2015
What Makes a Man October 5th, 2014 – November 2nd, 2014
4.48 Psychosis February 11th, 2013 – February 23rd, 2013
This Is What Happens Next December 1st, 2012 – December 9th, 2012
Divisadero: A Performance February 8th, 2012 – February 26th, 2012
Hardsell October 13th, 2011 – October 23rd, 2011
Bigger Than Jesus September 29th, 2011 – October 9th, 2011
White Rabbit, Red Rabbit August 5th, 2011 – August 14th, 2011
Tout Comme Elle (Just Like Her) June 13th, 2011 – June 18th, 2011
Andromache June 10th, 2011 – June 19th, 2011
Divisadero: a Performance February 8th, 2011 – February 20th, 2011
This is What Happens Next April 14th, 2010 – May 8th, 2010
Hamlet November 19th, 2009 – November 29th, 2009
Hardsell April 16th, 2009 – May 9th, 2009
Hamlet November 20th, 2008 – November 23rd, 2008
The Eco Show May 13th, 2008 – June 1st, 2008
The Eco Show May 22nd, 2007 – July 25th, 2007
Half Life January 8th, 2007 – February 3rd, 2007
Insomnia November 7th, 2006 – November 26th, 2006

Presented by Necessary Angel Theatre Company

Asking For It October 6th, 2017 – October 21st, 2017
Are You Okay March 1st, 2011 – March 13th, 2011

Current Staff

Alan Dilworth Artistic Director
Kanika Ambrose Associate Artistic Director
Kristina McNamee General Manager
Leonard McHardy Communications
Leonard McHardy Development
Katie Saunoris Communications Consultant
Yien Yip Bookkeeper

Former staff

Jennifer Tarver Artistic Director (2013-2019)
Natalie Ackers Managing Director
Patrick Lavender Production Manager

Board of Directors

Richard Stursberg Chair
Diane Blake Vice Chair
Boyd Neil Board Secretary
Roslyn Kaman Co-Treasurer
Sa’ad Shah Co-Treasurer
Astrid Janson Member
Mickey Patha Member
Yashoda Ranganathan Member
Nalini Stewart Member
Daniel Weinzweig Member