Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Ain’t Too Proud ()

Produced by

Berkeley Repertory Theatre and EMI Entertainment World, Inc. and Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Presented by

Mirvish Productions

Book: Dominique Morisseau
Director: Des McAnuff

Based on the Book Entitled The Temptations by Otis Williams with Patricia Romanowski


The Princess of Wales Theatre


October 11th, 2018 – November 17th, 2018


Before The Temptations became “the greatest R&B group of all time” (Billboard, 2017), they were just five young guys on the streets of Detroit. After getting discovered by Berry Gordy and signed to his brand-new label, Motown Records, it took them 24 tries before they finally had a hit song. The rest is history — how they met, how they rose, the groundbreaking heights they hit, and how personal and political conflicts threatened to tear the group apart as the United States fell into civil unrest. This thrilling story of brotherhood, family, loyalty, and betrayal is set to the beat of the group’s treasured hits, including “My Girl,” “Just My Imagination,” “Papa Was a Rolling Stone,” and so many more. (


Derrick Baskin Otis Williams
James Harkness Paul Williams
Jawan M. Jackson Melvin Franklin
Jeremy Pope Eddie Kendricks
Ephraim Sykes David Ruffin
Jarvis B. Manning, Jr. Al Bryant / Norman Whitfield / Ensemble
Nasia Thomas Mama Rose / Florence Ballard / Tammi Terrell / Ensemble
Taylor Symone Jackson Johnnie Mae / Mary Wilson / Ensemble
Marqell Edward Clayton Berry Gordy / Ensemble
Christian Thompson Smokey Robinson / Ensemble
Candice Marie Woods Diana Ross / Ensemble
Rashidra Scott Josephine / Ensemble
Joshua Morgan Shelly Berger / Ensemble
Saint Aubyn Dennis Edwards / Ensemble
E. Clayton Cornelious Richard Street / Ensemble
Shawn Bowers Lamont / Ensemble / Understudy for Paul Williams and Melvin Franklin
Rodney Earl Jackson Jr. Understudy for Otis Williams, Eddie Kendricks, and David Ruffin / Swing
Curtis Wiley Understudy for Otis Williams, Paul Williams, Eddie Kendricks, and David Ruffin / Swing
Esther Antoine Swing

Creative Team

Dominique Morisseau Book
Des McAnuff Director
Sergio Trujillo Choreographer
Harold Wheeler Orchestrations
Kenny Seymour Music Director
Kenny Seymour Music Arrangements
Robert Brill Scenic Designer
Paul Tazewell Costume Designer
Howell Binkley Lighting Designer
Steve Kennedy Sound Designer
Peter Nigrini Projection Designer
Charles LaPointe Hair and Wig Design
Steve Rankin Fight Director
Edgar Godineaux Associate Choreographer
John Miller Music Coordinator
Justin Humphres Associate Scenic Designer
Rachel Attridge Associate Costume Designer
Ryan O’Gara Associate Lighting Designer
Walter Trarbach Associate Sound Designer
Robert Figueira Associate Projection Designer
Ashley Rae Callahan Associate Wig Designer
Kimille Howard Assistant Director
Nicholas Kowerko Second Assistant Director
Naftali Wayne Assistant Lighting Designer
Sarah Rose Leonard Dramaturge


Sean Kana Associate Conductor
Kenny Seymour Keyboard 1
Sean Kana Keyboard 2
Keith Robinson Guitar
George Farmer Bass
Clayton Craddock Drums
Lenny Soloman Violin I
Tanya Charles Iveniuk Violin II / Viola
David Dunlop Trumpet / Flugel Horn
Pol Coussée Alto Sax / Tenor Sax / Bari Sax / Flute
Kelsley Grant Trombone
Adam Campbell Percussion
Mark Inneo Percussion


Molly Meg Legal Production Stage Manager
Jay Carey Stage Manager
Karen Szpaller Assistant Stage Manager
Esther Antoine Dance Captain
Shawn Bowers Assistant Dance Captain
Saint Aubyn Fight Captain
Michael Sanfilippo Company Manager
Morgan Steele Assistant Company Manager
John S. Corker General Manager
Patrick King General Manager
Tara Rubin Casting
Laura Schutzel Casting
Eric Woodall Casting
Merri Sugarman Casting
Kaitlin Shaw Casting
Lindsay Levine Casting
Felicia Rudolph Casting
Claire Burke Casting Associate
Rick Miramontez National Press Representative
Michael Jorgensen National Press Representative
Ian Crawford Production Video
Eric Norris Production Electrician
Walter Trarbach Production Audio
Alex Fogel Moving Light Programmer
Jack Gilchrist Head Carpenter
Chad Rowe Automation
Nathaniel Reindl Flyman
Lisa Lepoidevin Assistant Carpenter
Arthur E. Johnson Head of Properties
Michael Moore Assistant Properties
Dawn Kenseth Head Electrician
Clay Harding Electrician
Clay Harding Video Technician
James Lees Assistant Electrician / Front Light
Ron Sinko Sound Engineer
John Daniel McKenna Assistant Sound
Megan Quinn Wardrobe Supervisor
Jena Kerr Assistant Wardrobe
Yolanda Pollock Wig Supervisor
Margaret Sackman Hair Assistant
Megan Dieterle Assistant to Des McAnuff
Krysta Hibbard Assistant to Sergio Trujillo
Stori Ayers Assistant to Dominique Morisseau
Casey Pratt Production Assistant
Chris Waters Production Assistant
Janice Kessler Travel
Debbie Greenfield Housing
Kenny Noth Comptroller
Robert Fried Accountant
Margaret Monigan Banking
Marya K. Peters Marketing and Press Consultant
Andrew Damer Marketing and Press Consultant
Scott Praefke Marketing and Press Consultant
Sarah Dahlberg Marketing and Press Consultant
Jennifer Gallagher Marketing and Press Consultant
Meghan Kastenhofz Marketing and Press Consultant
Anne Dailey Meyer Marketing and Press Consultant
Jacqueline Smith Marketing and Press Consultant
Anne Waisanen Marketing and Press Consultant
Mike Karns Social Media
Micayla Brewster Social Media
Melanie Pateiro Social Media
Ali Wonderly Social Media
Steven M. Alper Music Preparation
Randy Cohen Keyboard Programmer
Tim Crook Associate Keyboard Programmer
Christine Meyers Costume Assistant
Rachel Townsend Costume Shopper
Nathan Crocker Dialect Coach
Dan Vatsky Projection Editor
Matt Houstle Video Programmer
Scott Beckwith Production Carpenter


Ron Montgomery, Jr. Head Electrician
Mike Switzer Head Carpenter
Tom Locke Head of Flies
Kevin Dixon Head of Properties
Mark Bennett Head of Wigs